How do I go about building a mobile app?

Hi there! I’m a C# web developer, using Visual Studio, but I’d like to learn mobile app development, just for fun. Does anyone have some favorite resources on how to get started? I’ve been reading the Apple and Android developer sites, but I’m looking for more general guidance.

I’d prefer to make an iOS app, because I use an iPhone, but I don’t have a Mac, so I don’t think that’s an option right now. Should I try Android app development, programming with Java or C++? I’m willing to learn Java, but I’d prefer C#, as that is what I use at work. (I’ve only been programming for a couple of years, so I’d like to practice C# in the process of building a mobile app.) I’ve heard of Xamarin, which claims it can be used for iOS, Android, and Windows, using Visual Studio, but it doesn’t seem to be a very popular option. Any opinions on Xamarin?

I’d appreciate your thoughts and advice on the subject. Thanks!

I’ve probably tried and given up on Xamarin development six times over the years. The concept is sound and I’ve seen people do really cool things with it but there’s always some small thing about my development environment that prevents it from working quite right.

The last time I tried I was actually able to get everything just right and spin up a quick test app. Once you get your environment set up it’s pretty enjoyable to work with, especially if you’re already familiar with C#. The issue I ran into that time was simply one of disk space. The images used to emulate each of the Android devices can easily take up dozens of gigs of space and I just didn’t have that much available.