How can I get my neural network to not output all 1s?

python

Hello! I’m Jadiker, and this is my first post here :blush: It’s really nice to see a tech community built around kindness. I’m generally a regular on Stack Overflow, but was brought here by this post, and thought I’d try it out.

Not only am I brand new to this site, I’m also brand new to machine learning, so we’ll see how this goes.

I just discovered Keras, and I’m trying to make a very simple neural network.

I have a bunch of images that look like this of someone playing a videogame (a game I created in Tkinter).

Ball falling in videogame; player's box is at the bottom

The idea of the game is that the user controls the box at the bottom of the screen in order to dodge the falling balls. (They can only dodge left and right.)

My goal is to have the neural network output the position of the player’s square on the bottom of the screen. If the player is on the left, the neural network should output a 0, if they’re in the middle, a .5, all the way right, a 1, and all the values in-between.

My images are 300x400 pixels. During a 50-frame game, I recorded each of the images on the screen and the position of the player as a tuple. Thus my resulting data was a list in the form [(image, player position), ...] with 50 elements. I then used the python pickle module to pickle that list to a file called “position_data1.pkl”.

In my code, I try to create an extremely basic feed-forward nerual network that takes in the image and outputs a value between 0 and 1 representing where the box on the bottom of the image is. But my neural network is only outputting 1s :slightly_frowning_face:

What should I change in order to get it to train and output values close to what I want?

Of course, here is my code. Any help would be appreciated.

# machine learning code mostly from https://machinelearningmastery.com/tutorial-first-neural-network-python-keras/

from keras.models import Sequential
from keras.layers import Dense